World Vision International
article • Saturday, March 11th 2017

Multi-sectoral Actions for WASH

Share Tweet Share

This post is shared from the Sustainable Sanitation Alliance (SuSanA).

Please join the next SuSanA webinar on ‘Multi-Sectoral Actions for WASH – the theoretical vs. the practical’ on Tuesday, March 21st 2017 at 14:00 CET (Central European time). 

Background: 
Over the past few years there has been a growing understanding of the need to integrate WASH messages into other sectors. WASH is critical in preventing malnutrition due to the effects of environmental enteric dysfunction from an unhygienic environment, is essential for reducing maternal and neonatal mortality rates by preventing sepsis, and is key in early childhood development by allowing children to reach their full potential. WASH really is foundational and therefore requires awareness of the programming of many other sectors. While the need to integrate is clear, best practices have not yet been compiled, and common obstacles face many who strive for more complete integration. 

Content of the webinar 
In this webinar, we will begin by exploring definitions of integration. A continuum of integration, from small programme adjustments to move towards integration to the ideal of what a fully integrated programme could look like, will be shared from the BabyWASH Coalition. Practical examples will then be shared for how countries have successfully moved along that continuum from World Vision’s experience in Uganda, and ACF’s experience in compiling a new WASH and Nutrition guidebook. There will be plenty of time left at the end for participants to share their success stories for WASH integration and place their experiences on the integration continuum that has been shared. 

Links: 
- ACF WASH and Nutrition 2017 Guidebook: www.actionagainsthunger.org.uk/publicati...ition-2017-guidebook 
- BabyWASH Coalition Website: babywashcoalition.org/ 

Time:
09:00 New York/Washington DC
13:00 London
14:00 Stockholm
16:00 Nairobi
18:30 New Delhi
20:00 Hanoi

Registration: You can join the webinar by following this link seint.adobeconnect.com/seiwebinar/. You can also register here to receive more information and reminders: www.susana.org/en/webinarregistrationbabywash

The webinar is being hosted by SEI, the SuSanA secretariat, and the BabyWASH Coalition as part of a grant to SEI funded by the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation.

Share Tweet

Related Stories